e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry
e s f home link - e s f college of environmental science and forestry

Academic Affairs Committee (AAC)


Academic Year 2022-23

Time and Location: 11:00 am - 12:20 pm, Online Zoom, unless otherwise noted

Please note that, in order for a proposal to be considered by the Academic Affairs Committee during the 2022-23 academic year meeting schedule, the deadline for submission of proposals is as follows:

Curriculum Proposal deadline: January 15, 2023

Course Proposal deadline: March 1, 2023

Dates Agenda Minutes
Tuesday,  September 20, 2022 Agenda Minutes
Tuesday,  October 18, 2022 Agenda Minutes
Tuesday,  November 15, 2022 Agenda Minutes
Tuesday, December 13, 2022 Agenda Minutes


This committee is charged with all matters of the College's instructional program. The committee shall assess the College curriculum; set standards for evaluating student academic performance and academic integrity; create, review and assess academic policies from matriculation through graduation; promote, support, and evaluate instructional quality; provide consultation in areas of academic technology and instructional spaces; review and consult on changes to academic programs, including creation and discontinuation of programs; and consult with ad hoc committees to review petitions, probations, academic suspensions, and dismissals.


The Academic Affairs Committee shall consist of one member recommended by each of the chairs/heads of the Academic Units, two Staff Representatives and two Student Representatives, one representing undergraduate students and one representing graduate students. The Associate Provost for Instruction shall serve as an ex-officio member of the committee.

Each Academic Unit Representative of the Academic Affairs Committee will have one vote. The Faculty Chair (College President) and the Executive Chair of Academic Governance or their designees are also voting members. Decisions shall be made by no less than a majority vote. Non-voting members are the Associate Provost for Instruction, Registrar, Admissions, Student and Staff Representatives and other observers. Committee meetings are open to all members of the faculty.

Please direct any correspondence to curriculum@esf.edu.

Members 2022-23

Name Representing
Shijie Liu Chemical Engineering
Avik Chatterjee Chemistry
Kimberly Schulz Environmental Biology
Wendong Tao Environmental Resources Engineering
Ann Moore Environmental Science
Gary Scott Executive Chair
Andrea Feldpausch-Parker Environmental Studies
Jacob Gedetsis Interdisciplinary Studies
Robin Hoffman Landscape Architecture
Ruth Owens Library
Ashley Gouger Open Academy
Joanie Mahoney President of SUNY ESF
Eddie Bevilacqua (chair) Sustainable Resources Management

Nonvoting Members and Observers

Name Representing
Valerie Luzadis* Associate Provost for Instruction
Casey Duffy AG Staff Representative
Terrance Caviness AG Staff Representative
Emme Christie GSA Representative
Dalton Adams MOSA Representative
Thomas Carter Office of International Education
Leslie Rutkowski Registrar
Elizabeth Minard Registrar
Susan Sanford Undergraduate Admissions
Jeremy Coleman Undergraduate Admissions
Erin Tochelli AAC Secretary
William Fisher Board of Trustees

*represents and votes for President in their absence